

WASCO COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL SESSION JULY 26, 2010

PRESENT: Dan Ericksen, Chair, County Commissioner Sherry Holliday, County Commissioner Bill Lennox, County Commissioner Kathy McBride, Executive Assistant

At 9:30 a.m. Commissioner Dan Ericksen called the meeting to order.

Tyler Stone, Administrative Officer, presented to the Board a copy of the letter of resignation from Patty Latham, Wasco County Treasurer.

DISCUSSION with Marty Matherly, Wasco County Roadmaster, regarding the Public Works Office Manager Position.

The Board, Stone and Marty Matherly, Wasco County Roadmaster, discussed the resignation of Patty Latham as County Treasurer. Latham has accepted the position of Public Works Office Manager.

Matherly is interested in Latham coming to work at the Public Works Department before Patty Peickert, Secretary, fully retires in September. Peickert and Shannon Lindell, Public Works Department Office Manager, have been working part time since partially retiring. This would allow Lindell adequate time to train Latham before Peickert is no longer working for Wasco County.

A lengthy discussion occurred regarding replacing the County Treasurer and the start date for Latham as the new Public Works Office Manager.

Also discussed was the wage that would be paid to Latham while she is performing County Treasurer and Office Manager duties. WASCO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL SESSION JULY 26, 2010 PAGE 2

{{{Commissioner Holliday moved to authorize Marty Matherly, Wasco County Roadmaster, to offer Step 3 for the Position of Public Works Office Manager. Commissioner Lennox seconded the motion; it was then passed unanimously.}}}

The Board is in agreement that Latham will be paid at the Treasurer's rate of pay until her resignation date regardless of the duties she is performing.

{{{Commissioner Holliday moved to accept the resignation of Patty Latham as Wasco County Treasurer, effective September 30, 2010. Commissioner Lennox seconded the motion; it was then passed unanimously.}}

The County will begin to advertise for the replacement of the County Treasurer. Matherly will assist the County in allowing Latham to train the incoming Treasurer upon his/her appointment.

PUBLIC HEARING on the formation of the Tygh Valley Rural Fire Protection District.

Chairman Ericksen called to order the Public Hearing on the formation of the Tygh Valley Rural Fire Protection District.

There were five people in attendance.

Keith Mobley, Attorney for the Tygh Valley Volunteer Fire Department, noted that the Board of Commissioners held a meeting in Tygh Valley to take input from local citizens. The input received was in support of the formation of the District. This hearing is the first of two required Public Hearings. They are requesting that the Board of Commissioners approve the order calling for the second Public Hearing on the formation of the Tygh Valley Rural Fire Protection District and providing for an election, if required by the electors.

Chairman Ericksen opened the hearing to anyone wishing to testify either for or against the proposed formation.

Pat Chastain and Terry Stark both expressed support for the formation of the Tygh Valley Rural Fire Protection District.

There was no one else wishing to testify so the hearing was closed to further testimony.

{{{Commissioner Holliday moved to approve Order #10-102 in the matter of an order for a second hearing on the formation of Tygh Valley Rural Fire Protection District and providing for an election, if required by electors. Commissioner Lennox seconded the motion; it was then passed unanimously}}.

WASCO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL SESSION JULY 26, 2010 PAGE 3

PRIVATE SALE of property described as Township 2 North, Range 12 East, Section 7, Tax Lot 1799, Reference #15808 to Charles R. & Marjorie E. Gove.

{{{Commissioner Lennox moved to approve the Resolution #10-033 in the matter of supporting the transfer of property obtained by foreclosure, Order #10-103 in the matter of the distribution of the proceeds of the County's sale of tax foreclosed property, and Quitclaim Deed between Wasco County and Charles R. & Marjorie E. Gove. Commissioner Holliday seconded the motion; it was then passed unanimously.}}}

Other Business:

{{{Commissioner Holliday moved to approve the Memorandum of Agreement between the Wasco County Soil and Water Conservation District and Wasco County. Commissioner Lennox seconded the motion; it was then passed unanimously.}}

Fred Davis, Wasco County Facilities Manager, met with the Board to discuss the proposal received from Hale Construction in the amount of \$175,275 for the Demolition and Remodel of the First Floor of the Wasco County Clinic Annex "B" Building Project. The County received two proposals from Hale Construction and Mike O'Brien Construction. Hale Construction's proposal was considerably less than O'Brien's proposal. However both proposals are more than what was budgeted for the project.

Some discussion occurred regarding the submitted proposals.

It was noted during the discussion that since the County received more grant funding than anticipated for the Reroofing of the La Clinica Project there should be funding that would be freed up which could be utilized for the Demolition and Remodeling Project at Annex B.

The two proposals will be reviewed and compared prior to staff returning with their recommendation.

The Board signed:

- Order #10-102 in the matter of an order for a second hearing on the formation of Tygh Valley Rural Fire Protection District and providing for an election, if required by electors.

- Resolution #10-033 in the matter of supporting the transfer of property obtained by foreclosure.

WASCO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL SESSION JULY 26, 2010 PAGE 4

- Order #10-103 in the matter of the distribution of the proceeds of the County's sale of tax foreclosed property.

- Quitclaim Deed between Wasco County and Charles R. & Marjorie E. Gove.

- Memorandum of Agreement between the Wasco County Soil and Water Conservation District and Wasco County.

The Board adjourned at approximately 11:00 a.m.

WASCO COUNTY BOARD **OF COMMISSIONERS**

Dan Ericksen, County Commissioner

Sherry Holliday, County Commissioner

Bill Lennox, County Commissioner